Various Artists: Smooth Grooves (1996)

smooth grooves

By Scott Goldfine

Rhino gets romantic with this soothing, sensual collection of R&B ballads from the 1970s and 1980s. The seven-disc series ranges from big crossover hits such as Larry Graham’s “One in a Million You” to lesser-known album gems like “What’s a Telephone Bill?” by Bootsy’s Rubber Band.

Not every entry is essential, but full-length versions and detailed liner notes help make “Smooth Grooves” a delight.


Smooth Grooves: Essential Collection GET NOW (Amazon)