TIR 21: Hamish Stuart Picks Up the Pieces of AWB’s Soulful Story


Brought to you by FUNKNSTUFF.NET and hosted by Scott Goldfine — musicologist and author of “Everything Is on the One: The First Guide of Funk” ― “TRUTH IN RHYTHM” is the interview show that gets DEEP into the pocket with contemporary music’s foremost masters of the groove.

Featured in this three-part series: Hamish Stuart, original lead singer and guitarist/bassist for Scotland’s Average White Band — perhaps the most ironically named group of all time. Other original band members included singer/bassist Alan Gorrie, guitarist Onnie McIntyre, sax players Molly Duncan and Roger Ball, and drummer Robbie McIntosh, who overdosed in 1974 and was replaced by Steve Ferrone. The six-member act became famous after its funky, primarily instrumental “Pick Up the Pieces” was a pop smash in 1974.

From 1974-1978, AWB was among the best and bestselling funk-R&B bands, with classic tracks including the funky “TLC,” “Cut the Cake,” “School Boy Crush,” “Goin’ Home,” “I’m the One,” “The Message” and “Your Love Is a Miracle”; the soulful “If I Ever Lose This Heaven” and “Queen of My Soul”; and ballads like “Cloudy” and “A Love of Your Own.” With the original lineup disbanding in 1983, Stuart and Ferrone built up their resumes doing session work and live support for superstars like Aretha Franklin, Chaka Khan (she had a hit with AWB’s “Watcha Gonna Do for Me?”), Paul McCartney, Ringo Starr, Tom Petty, George Harrison, Eric Clapton and many others. Recently Stuart, Duncan and Ferrone reunited to form a new group called the 360 Band, whose debut album has just been released.

In this three-part series, Stuart discusses AWB’s early years, rise to stardom, tragedy, classic songs and albums, life on the road, the band’s demise, life as an ace session player, and reuniting on a new project with former band members.

Recorded August 2017


Get your AWB and 360 Band music from the Stuffs & Thangs Store!